This one takes the cake…

Birthday cake, that is. This past Friday, I celebrated my 28th birthday. As I would tell David, “You have only 2 more years until you’re 30!” My birthdays are bittersweet since moving to North Carolina for graduate school six years ago. I get excited about them, but also know that I won’t be celebrating with my family. Last year was an exception, and a wonderful one at that. We went home for a week that included gunshots, fireworks, a baby shower, my birthday, and more fireworks. This year was better for one main reason: Harrison was around to celebrate with us :).
The morning started out with David making breakfast and giving me my gifts from Harrison and him. David Harrison made me a great gift

Harrison actually let David trace his hands


and David gave me season tickets to the DPAC for its 3rd season of Broadway Series South shows. I am most excited about Billy Elliot and The Lion King. We went and saw Wicked! in May, and I loved it. I can’t wait to go back to see more shows. David made sure all of our tickets were for Saturday matinees so we wouldn’t be searching for a sitter during the evening each time.
I spent the day with my little man, and then when David got home we had some cake and Moscato. This was the same Moscato we had at our wedding 4 years ago. We all went to dinner at Mizu, where Harrison was very happy to watch all the ladies walking by. He already knows how to get their attention. David had surprised me by getting in touch with some of my friends and arranging for us all to go have some drinks that evening while he stayed home with Harrison. I have such a wonderful husband. And even though it wasn’t at home with all of my family, it was still a most wonderful birthday full of family and friends, and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. (Okay, maybe strawberry cake 😉 ).
Here are some more pictures from the day.

Beautiful flowers from David


My 2nd Birthday Cake!



It's not easy to get a posed picture with Harrison

Leave a Reply

