Belles and Bowties

Last week our family made a trip down to Charleston for our friend, Colby’s, wedding. Let me just start off by commending myself for my good behavior.  You read that right, “my”, not “Harrison’s”. Seriously, I was fabulous this trip. After learning from past mistakes trips and talking to some friends, I had a game plan. This helped me with spending Friday in its entirety in the hotel since David took the stroller with him while on a golf outing all day. I attempted to let Harrison ride on my shoulders while walking to the main square, but it was so humid that we made it 3/4 of the way (okay, on Sunday I realized we were literally maybe 2 blocks away. That’s neither here nor there) before stopping to rest and then turn around.  I didn’t know there was a pool until some random man asked me if I’d taken Harrison swimming yet.

Alright, alright. So I was good, Harrison was fantastic, and the weekend was a huge success. Friday night, Harrison was a hit at the rehearsal dinner.  I guess things work differently in the South, because a man I had never met before started talking to me at the rehearsal dinner about Harrison, and when David came over to the conversation holding Harrison, the man asked to hold him (while reaching out to take him). He then passed him along to his daughters. Once we sat down at our table, there was more ogling. David only got up with him once, and that was only because he was trying to give a speech at the same time as the groom’s father.

Saturday, we had a fun time getting breakfast out and going swimming. I should mention that we stayed at a beautiful hotel; The Mill House Hotel. We couldn’t have asked for a better location. It was near every place we had to be for the wedding and very close to King Street. I hit King Street for a bit on Saturday to do some shopping. I was good and most of the shopping was window shopping. I discovered a very cool store, sugar snap pea.  It’s probably a good thing it’s not any closer. Of course I managed to find a children’s store.

The wedding took place at Gibbes Museum of Art.  A very humorous aside, David didn’t even really know what time the wedding was THAT HE WAS IN. In all fairness,  it appeared that no one brought their actual invitation with time on it. At least not anyone our age. David thought it was 6, 2 other people thought 6:15. The actual time – 6:30.  Hey, no one was late.  It was a beautiful ceremony with a very fitting homily. The bride looked gorgeous, and the groom handsome (is it okay I say that?). I loved the bridesmaids’ dresses. I loved my dress and shoes, too, but no picture. Only a cell phone picture of Harrison in his cute tuxedo that his Nana bought him :(. I nixed the camera at the last minute thinking I shouldn’t take pictures during the ceremony because it was in an art museum, and then everyone and their cousin (which in the South may just be a good friend. Heck, that man may not be your real uncle) had a camera. So just this one picture of David, Colby (the groom) and Chris with David’s cell phone.

We headed back late Sunday morning after some breakfast and a few pictures of David and Harrison. David and I have been to Charleston several times before and gotten pictures, so we figured we’d hold off on another “tour” until next time when Harrison is a bit older and can enjoy everything more. We’ve gradually learned to not try to “force” things or pack too much in. It really was a great weekend, and I’m looking forward to our next trip further south :).

Leave a Reply

