Fa-la-la-la…

“Deck the halls” didn’t make the list, but here’s a little breakdown of some of my favorite holiday/Christmas songs. A “Top 6”, if you will. These aren’t in any particular order. Oh, and I don’t really think you can go wrong with Andy Williams or Charlie Brown Vince Guaraldi.

1.) Happy Holiday/The Holiday Season – Andy Williams

2.) Sleigh Ride – Andy Williams (yep, he made it on here twice. I love the instruments, background vocals, and overall feel of this song)

3.) Holly Jolly Christmas – Burl Ives

4.) Santa Claus is Coming to Town – Bruce Springsteen and the E-Street Band

5.) A Charlie Brown Christmas – The entire album. This just sings? plays? Christmas time to me.

6.) The Christmas Song/Merry Christmas – Nat King Cole

Here are a few “honorable mentions”.  Even though it didn’t make the top of my list, I do enjoy Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas is You”. Her new song, “Oh, Santa”,  may beat it simply because it’s more dance-able and it got Harrison shaking his groove thang. “Toy Jackpot” by Blackalicious has me pumped for Christmas, too. You can catch it on a Target commercial and download it for free here.

For the sake of putting it out there, there are a few that I do NOT like. I don’t know that there’s 5, but there are at least 4 I can think of. And they don’t get the holiday color treatment, either.

1.) Last Christmas – Wham! (or Glee cast for that matter. Sorry guys. Not this time.)

2.) Same Old Lang Syne – Dan Fogelberg

3.) Grandma Got Ran Over By A Reindeer – Elmo & Patsy

4.) Mary Did You Know – Kenny Rogers and Wynonna (love the lyrics, not the actual song)

So, what about you? Do you like/hate dislike the same songs? Are there “musts” on your Christmas playlist that aren’t on mine? Do you vehemently disagree with me on one/some/all of these? Oh, and I consider this separate from Christmas songs you hear at Church.  I was going a different route with my list.


Leave a Reply

