Something Tasty: Kale Chips

Last week was the first week of the CSA we are participating in. You can read more about that here. I thought it would be a good idea to feature a recipe that we try each week and let you know how it turn out: good or bad. We were gone last week (more on that later), but our neighbors were kind enough to make us some delicious food with some of the fresh produce featured in our box last week. Here’s what was in there:

  • 2 1lbs strawberries
  • Small bunch kale
  • Small bunch spring onions
  • 2 1bs tomatoes
  • 3 lbs sweet potatoes
  • 8 oz lettuce mix

Our neighbors made us kale chips, and they were delicious. At first, Harrison was unsure of trying them, but once I was able to get him to taste one, he couldn’t get enough. I tried my hand at them today, and they turned out pretty well. I put a little too much olive oil on them, but they were still crispy and Harrison didn’t complain. David enjoyed them, too.

I forgot to take a picture, but here’s a lovely online one:

I didn’t have to wash my kale because it is organic, but one of the most important steps is to rinse the kale and pat it completely dry or spin it in a salad spinner. Break the leaves off into small pieces, lay them on parchment-lined baking sheet. Then, drizzle some olive oil and sprinkle a little salt on them. Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes. Enjoy.

Update: I made these again yesterday and made some changes. Instead of drizzling the olive oil, I placed the kale in a Ziploc bag with the olive oil and salt and shook it.  This distributed the olive oil more evenly. I also added some curry powder into the mix, and this turned out tasty. 

*Kale chip image found here.

Leave a Reply

