Happy 5 years (and almost 2 months)

Since this post is a tad bit late (like about, oh, 2 months), I thought the title fitting. Yes, on June 3, David and I celebrated 5 years of marriage. Here we are on that happy day:

Mr. & Mrs. David Bunge

Things sure have changed in five years (for the better). We moved from an apartment into our first home, got Truman, and welcomed our first (human) child.

I can’t say there haven’t been trials along the way (at least not with a straight face), but it has been a wonderful journey these past five years.

We celebrated by giving each other the traditional gift for year 5, wood. This required some creativity. I didn’t really want to give him something too literal, and that’s where Pinterest came in (Oh, Pinterest, I love thee so. Let me count the ways…..). I found a “pin” for a paper doll family. Paper comes from trees, and that’s wood. It got even better when I discovered the artist, Jordan Grace Owens, lives in Greensboro, NC. I got to support a local. Woo-hoo! I sent in my pictures – including Truman, told her what I wanted everyone to wear, and was absolutely enamored with the result. Picture me grinning from ear to ear when I received the email with the finished results. (Go ahead, I’ll give you time to picture that.) I was pretty proud of myself on this one. This isn’t the framed result, but it’s still great. Speaking of the frame, I went to a local outdoor flea market/antique mall to find a wooden frame to fit the paper dolls that I mounted.

David also went the Etsy route. Can you tell we love to use Etsy for custom, handmade gifts? He gifted me this beautiful artwork, entitled, A Force of Nature -“Two Love Birds”:

We went out that evening for a great dinner at Iris, which is housed in the North Carolina Museum of Art. I had made reservations there last year as part of my gift to David for our 4th wedding anniversary (fruits and flowers was the traditional gift), and we decided to return this year. Afterward, we headed to Hayes Barton Cafe for dessert, and then home to Harrison. He was already sound asleep; however, that night became the first night of many that Harrison would talk for 30 minutes or longer before drifting off. More on that later.

It was a great day to celebrate 5 years together, and I find myself even more in love with David than the day we married. I’ll end with another shot from that blissful day.

Leave a Reply

