Happy Birthday, To Me!

I’m on a roll with these late blogs. At least it’s still my birthday month. (No, I don’t require a month-long celebration of my birthday, although that would be pretty awesome) This year, we were in Missouri for my birthday (more on that trip later). I didn’t get a month of celebration, but I did get about 3 days of it, which is pretty great in my book.

Thursday night we had a nice dinner at my in-laws’, and I wasn’t expecting anything, but out came a Tiramisu cake and suddenly people were quietly (Harrison was asleep) singing, “Happy Birthday”. I even got a gift – a gift certificate to use at a local spa. Score!

The party continued Friday night, when my awesome husband took me out to dinner. He wanted to take me out Friday so we could spend some time alone. Don’t get me wrong, we love our little man, but if he’s sleeping anyways, why not go out on the town? So, with my parents graciously keeping eyes and ears on Harrison, we headed to Columbia for dinner, coffee, and music. Unfortunately, our favorite Japanese restaurant, Sake, was closed for renovations, but we quickly found another sushi restaurant that got great reviews for their fresh fish (a must with sushi). Seriously, what did people do before smart phones? After dinner, David gave me my presents, and I was just a tad excited. He first gave me a beautiful La Mer soho wrap watch that I had been slightly drooling over:

Yummy La Mer watch

And, as if that wasn’t enough, he had gotten us tickets to see Ray Lamontagne with Brandi Carlile in concert this fall. He was clever and put them inside a ticket-stub journal he also gifted me. I have such a great husband.

We headed over to The Blue Note after dinner for a little battle of the bands. That was fun because David and I don’t really stay out that late anymore, and it was nice to hear some local bands.

Saturday was my actual birthday, and all of my family was in town. My younger brother made sure to be off work that day, and my older brother had just returned from Australia and came in Friday night to be there for the weekend. We all went swimming that morning and then headed back to Columbia for some laser tag. I think David’s wanted to play since we started watching How I Met Your Mother (seriously). I had so much fun, and David and I beat my brothers!

That night David’s parents and his aunt (who had just arrived from Canada) came over to my mom and dad’s for dinner and birthday cake. My mom made my beloved 3-layered strawberry cake. Thanks, Mom! I’m not sure about the sparkler she decided to put on top. I was intrigued and frightened at the same time. It honestly was such an awesomely-wonderful day (yep, just coined that).

DavidHarrison forgot to bring his birthday gift for me, but I got to open that when we returned to North Carolina. He gave me this awesome robot necklace that I can’t wait to wear:

"Feelings"

There it is. My birthday story for this year. It was such a fantastic 3 days, made better by the fact I was surrounded by all of my family. And, in case you’re wondering, it was my last birthday in my 20s. I’m not sweating that right now, though.

Leave a Reply

