Back on the (blogging) wagon

I started this blog several years ago as a way to share our family happenings with family members who (at the time) were halfway across the country. It became a way for me to document the small (we painted a room in our home) and the big (we are expecting our first child). I never aspired to have a blog that anyone outside of family and close friends read, but the idea of that sounded nice. Basically, I enjoy writing, and I enjoy telling people about my family, so it seemed like a win-win. It also gave me something to do that was not job-related.

Well….life happens, and I have not been so good at keeping up with this blog. I have so many ideas, and I can’t decide if all of them are suited for the blog. Part of me wants to share everything and just post about something I feel the need to write about. This doesn’t work because my core audience is family and close friends, and I have found it’s easy for people to misinterpret what I write, interpret correctly and become upset, or the topic doesn’t make sense to what I originally intended the blog to be: posts about our family and what’s happening. I need to have two blogs, have separate headings/pages on my blog, or use a pseudonym and tell no one about blog I have started. You may laugh at the last one, but I have considered it, as many people do it, and it would allow me to have an outlet where I could write anything. Don’t misunderstand. I don’t mean to say I have these things to say that I don’t want others knowing are my words. I mean that I want to write about topics sometimes that don’t belong on this blog. I felt like writing about all the “problems” I had during my second pregnancy was risky.

Right now, I have decided to just stick with our little family blog, and be more diligent about posts. If only grandparents and a handful of others read it, that’s great. I don’t need a huge audience. This is a personal blog, and I’m not writing for anyone else, honestly. I can’t promise consistency, but I can promise this will be a hodge podge. I will write about events, about funny things our kids say and do, things I create, our house, what we made for dinner…life. That’s just how I roll. I also promise you will see a lot of posts this week, and then I may take another week to post again.

 

One thought on “Back on the (blogging) wagon

  1. Pingback: A Birthday Fit for a {Little} Man | So That Happened

Leave a Reply

