Constructing a 3rd Birthday Party!

Okay, so I’m really behind on this one, but I figured since I composed a post on Beckett’s birthday, I owed Harrison one. Plus, I posted about Harrison’s birthday the past two years. We went with a construction theme for Harrison’s third birthday, as the child possibly has an affinity for all things construction.

We didn’t take a lot of photos during the day, as it was a bit chaotic. This was the first time Harrison had a birthday party that involved friends, and not just family. I guess his first birthday involved a couple of friends, but he didn’t really choose them (sorry Dillon and Owen). That party was more about people that were important to us; well, Harrison, too, but he just didn’t know it at the time.

I like to have a theme for a party, at least a birthday party, but I don’t like to go overboard. I think a few touches here and there and getting clever with some things goes a long way. The funny thing is I realize some people may read this and think we did too much or not enough. It worked for us, and, most importantly, the birthday boy.

Going with the construction theme, we purchased orange utility flags from Lowe’s and lined the sidewalk to the front door. Inside the house, we set up construction “zones”. Upstairs, we had paper and crayons for the kids to draw out plans (or just play). On the main floor, we had blocks set up for them to build with. David “taped off” the living room with construction tape.

DSC_0067 DSC_0070

DSC_0114

DSC_0115

We made the framed chalkboard right before Harrison’s birthday. I bought a frame from Goodwill for $7, and then we spray painted the frame and rolled chalkboard paint right over the picture inside. I wanted to do this for a while, and knowing we were having people over gave me the kick in the pants I needed to get it done.

DSC_0158 DSC_0159

You might also notice the little banner on the fire place. I intended to have more pictures of Harrison, but this was last-minute, and I didn’t have time to go in and scale his head in other photos to make it work. I think people still got the idea, and it had the intended effect. Harrison loved it, his friends thought it was funny, and family thought it was cute.

Outside, we had some shovels and gravel and trucks. We really lucked out with the weather, as it was early November. It was a gorgeous day, and it was nice to let the kids run around outside.

DSC_0129 DSC_0134

When it came time for cake, I went pretty simple. Well, let me back up and say the cake looked simple. I decided on a vegan cake. The reason I did this was because I was on a restricted diet at the time as a result of some sensitivities Beckett was experiencing. Maybe it was selfish, but I wanted some cake, too.  The cake was A PROCESS! I was frosting it when the first guests arrived. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a cake I could’ve done ahead of time. When I had some the next day, it was still delicious, but it was very crumbly, and the frosting came off in pieces.

DSC_0142

DSC_0145

It was a big hit with Harrison and most of the other children. Harrison wanted seconds, and another child was trying to get thirds! One child tried it, and then he politely told me he didn’t like it and was throwing it away. In full disclosure, it wasn’t completely vegan. The dirt was crushed Joe-Joes from Trader Joe’s, and the rocks were chocolate-covered raisins. Most people just got the cake with frosting, though.  And, yes, I did clean the bulldozer before putting it on the cake.

I purchased some cupcakes in case the cake was a flop or a few kids hated it. I almost got one out for the one child who didn’t like the cake, but it turned out I didn’t have to. He didn’t ask for anything else, and there were other snacks for him to eat. In hindsight, I was glad I didn’t have to pull out the cupcakes. I think that would’ve been disastrous.

It was such a fun day, and I was grateful that Harrison had so many friends to share in his celebration. It made turning 3 even more special! He’s already planned out his next 5 birthdays, too.

 

Leave a Reply

