Lindsey’s Sprinkle

This past Saturday, my mom and I were honored to put together a sprinkle for one of my oldest and dearest friends. For those of you not familiar, a sprinkle is a way to celebrate someone who may be becoming a mother for the second or third time. My takeaway from what I read (because, yes, I did read up on a sprinkle since I’m that way) is that a sprinkle is more low-key. Since the mother likely has many of the “necessities”, it’s an opportunity to ask her what she may really want. Let’s face it, when you register for that first baby, you likely go way overboard and end up with a lot of things that you didn’t need and weren’t functional, or you realize that it would’ve been really nice to have something you didn’t register for. Also, if it’s been a few years, your items may be out-of-date, grimy, or non-existent. In Lindsey’s case, I knew it had been several years since her last child. And, even though she was having another girl (her oldest is a girl), this little one will be born in the opposite season (late spring vs. fall). Honestly, though, it just came down to the fact that I wanted to do this for my wonderful friend, and she was kind enough to let my mom and I do this for her.

I went back and forth with whether I should have a “theme”. I liked the idea of being literal with a sprinkle, and I saw so many great ideas using sprinkles everywhere, from the decor to the food.

Image via La Partie Diva

While I drew great inspiration from images such as these, I also wanted to do something original, and I had to consider that the sprinkle was during Brunch. It didn’t make a lot of sense to serve candy, cupcakes, and pretzels (well, to me). And, although I wish I had time to use cute signs/labels for the food, I just didn’t. I decided I’d take more inspiration from the sprinkle concept, and just go with what I liked (and had time for). I guess you could say I “sprinkled” lots of different ideas throughout…or you couldn’t. The funny thing is that one of Lindsey’s friends asked what my theme was, and I told her (semi-jokingly), “A clean house, and maybe some flowers.”. I hope I did better than that.

I decided to use a color scheme fitting with the girls’ room. That meant pink, orange, and hints of teal. I also wanted the decor to be functional.  I wanted Lindsey to be able to take items with her if she wanted (the basket with diapers, the tissue paper flowers, the real flowers, the diaper cakes), and I wanted the functional items to also be decorative (plates, napkins, utensil holders, you name it). Let’s start at the front entry, shall we:

DSC_0012 DSC_0013

I wanted something in this space as guests came in, and I also wanted to lead them into the office space where they could place gifts. Above the gift table, I liked the idea of clouds and rain. I saw this image via Fiskars, and wanted to duplicate it without copying it.

My version maybe didn’t turn out as “beautiful”, shall we say… but let’s not. I think I should have copied, but it’s the thought that counts.

DSC_0008

You may recognize the zig-zag streamers from Beckett’s birthday. I was thinking it would look like rain falling from the sky, but I think the raindrops would have been more delicate and looked less haphazard. Lesson learned.

In the dining room, I set up a few stations for guests to go to as they pleased. Thanks to the idea of another guest (these women really are awesome), I created monthly onesies using this tutorial. I completed them beforehand because I didn’t feel ironing should be on the sprinkle agenda. I made little notecards with the idea that guests could pick a few months to write messages for Lindsey to read as she pulls out a onesie each month.

DSC_0009 DSC_0011 DSC_0075

The other station was for late-night diaper changes. Guests could write something funny or sweet on the front of the diaper, and then Lindsey (or Travis; definitely Travis) can read these when they are up in the middle of the night with baby girl.

DSC_0010 DSC_0076

By the way, that’s Lindsey’s oldest helping Lindsey’s mom come up with some things to write. How cute is she?! She wanted to come with Lindsey and celebrate her baby sister.

As guests came into the living room, I put up a few decorations on the mantle, but a small diaper cake (made by one of Lindsey’s friends) and some writing on the chalkboard were the main attractions. I didn’t want too much in here because we would all be sitting there talking, eating, watching Lindsey open gifts, eating some more.

DSC_0001 DSC_0002 DSC_0006 DSC_0018

There was another “activity” for guests in the living room. I found a “Wishes for baby” printable that I thought was a sweet sentiment. I plan on binding them all together with a ribbon and giving them to Lindsey as a little book.

In the kitchen, I used the big diaper cake as a centerpiece on the table, and then the flowers and food took center stage. Even though it was brunch, I didn’t go overboard on the food and drink. I actually planned on another savory and sweet dish, but time constraints didn’t allow for that. It turned out perfect, though. My mom made a savory breakfast casserole, I baked some donuts, and we had some fresh fruit and sparkling cider. I was going to brew coffee, but it turned out everyone had already had their morning cup or two. These ladies made it easy on me.

DSC_0004 DSC_0026

It was such a fun celebration, and I am so thankful that on Mother’s Day weekend I was able to share this time with my own mother and so many other wonderful mothers. All of the decorations and food wouldn’t have meant anything without Lindsey and her wonderful family and group of friends.

Here are just a “sprinkling” of photos from that morning that actually include the guest of honor.

DSC_0003 DSC_0022 DSC_0029 DSC_0032

DSC_0017

Thank you, Lindsey, for letting me throw this sprinkle for you!

Leave a Reply

