Best. Dad. Ever.

DSC_0034

I think that about sums it up. Shortest post ever.

 

 

 

…Of course not! First of all, I am not a woman of few words. Second of all, I can’t let Father’s Day pass (too much longer) without informing the masses about my most wonderful husband.  See, in my opinion, and our boys’, David is the Best. Dad. Ever.  And that’s all that really matters. He is the best dad our two boys could ask for.  He also happens to be the best dad I could have asked for for them.  Good thing.

Days like Mother’s and Father’s Day are pretty important around here. I get just as excited plotting planning for this occasion, as I do for birthdays or other holidays.  There’s just something about putting together a day devoted to the man who helps you raise your children. I think it’s extra special around here because we happen to have two boys. I can only hope they continue to desire to be just like their daddy. 

We didn’t give him breakfast in bed, but we did let David pick his breakfast and hang the card on the door. We are nothing if not fancy-schmancy around here. My original plan was to let David “sleep-in” while Harrison helped me with breakfast and Beckett played. As it turned out, both boys ended up in our room playing with Daddy. It was really kind of perfect because what better way to start the day with your boys who want nothing but to spend time with you? I could hear them laughing and reading stories while I made breakfast. Um, it was like I planned the perfect father-son bonding time. You know, except for a few thuds and crying (I kid, I kid…).

We gave David a few cards and gifts after breakfast.  Harrison was excited about giving David his cards since he pretty much picked them all (yes, there were multiple) out.  He also loves “helping” people open gifts.

DSC_0022 DSC_0011 DSC_0076 DSC_0028

 

I’m sure you notice David wearing two different shirts. He’s such an awesome dad, that pretty much as soon as he opened the t-shirt at the beginning of this post, he changed into it.  He also read the books the boys gave him more than a few times to Harrison (while Beckett walked around with one of the cards they gave him). That last picture is David reading an “About my dad” questionnaire Harrison answered. I started this with Harrison last year, and I hope to continue it with him, and Beckett, throughout the years.

The rest of the day was full of fun (park time), relaxing for Daddy (while Beckett napped, and I took Harrison on a walk), and special treats. We had our first ever crab boil, and a 7-layer s’mores cake was involved. The cake may have been David’s favorite part.

More than gifts or this post could ever say, this day was to celebrate the wonderful way in which David is a father to his sons.  I count my blessings every day that I married him and that my boys get to know him as their father. We love you, David/Daddy!

DSC_0058 DSC_0088 DSC_0078

 

 

Leave a Reply

